A Primary Trust
for Primary Schools

Find Out More
Darley Dene Primary School

Year 1

Throughout Years 1-6 the learning is focused on mastering the end of year objectives set out in the 2014 National Curriculum. In Years 1 & 2 the children follow the Key Stage 1 programmes of study as outlined in the National Curriculum and in Years 3, 4, 5 & 6 they follow the Key Stage 2 programmes. The National Curriculum for both key stages consists of the core subjects: Mathematics, English, Science and Computing; and the foundation subjects; History, Geography, Design & Technology, Art and Design, Music, and P.E. The Surrey Agreed Syllabus is used for the teaching of Religious Studies (R.S).  

Children are taught in mixed ability classes throughout the school. They progress through the classes according to age except in very exceptional instances where the individual needs of the child make an alternative programme necessary.

You can take a read of our weekly teaching and learning summary to find out what our children have been getting up to through stimulating and engaging activities. Please click on 'Teaching and Learning Weekly Summary' in the right hand side menu or click here to find out more.

Darley Dene Primary School